Honey Apple Tart

I popped (tyneral) pills and drank (water) throughout the night/morning and actually giggled when I finished my essay.

IMG_1959

Happy Halloween, my friends! It’s time for Show and Tell of costumes. I honestly love people-watching on Halloween and wondering just how telling (see what I did there?) costumes are of one’s personality. I presume princesses either want to be fawned over or invisible because they were forced into the fluffy, shiny dress, scantily dressed cats just want to have fun (or fit in!), and people in remarkably witty costumes either are very witty indeed, or googled “last minute great halloween costumes” and got to this site.

As for me, I don’t celebrate halloween, but this is what I’d dress up as.

If I was going out, that is.

pfft
credit: tumblr. (but of course, the gif haven)

I don’t know about you, but my first year of university was pretty phenomenal. I kept waiting for the stress to hit me like everyone screamed would happen, but I managed to stay afloat with keen interest in class, some social circles and a satisfactory piece of paper known as The Transcript.

My second year, however, has been… crazy. I put that in red, non-capitalized letters because that’s how I describe it to my friends; an out-of-breath whisper, with wide, red bloodshot eyes.

The sheer number of midterms, essays (including a 10 page monster. Mine had a huge @$$ graph though, don’t know if that counts as a page), quizzes, and debates has just blown my mind. It got so bad that I couldn’t even post anything for National Chocolate Day.

I DID, however, make these honey apple tarts for the autumn season. Apples are just in season right now, and they are so delightful to eat. Crunchy, crisp but not hard; sweet, juicy and not powdery, I actually sat in the kitchen yesterday just chewing in wonder, thinking of how I could describe the harmony in my mouth. There’s another taste that’s neither sour nor sweet that I cannot put a finger on.

IMG_1964

HONEY APPLE TART
Author: Moe

Makes one (1) 9-inch tart, or five (5) 4-inch tarts

Ingredients

1/2 recipe of pâte brisée (the other half keeps well in fridge for up to 2 days, and in freezer for up to 1 month)

1 apple
1 tablespoon butter (optional)
2 tablespoons raw sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
Lemon juice from squeeze of 1 lemon wedge (~1 teaspoon)

Honey, to taste (1 teaspoon ~1 tablespoon)

Recipe

  1. Preheat oven to 400° Fahrenheit (205° Celsius).
  2. Roll out refrigerated pate brisée and press into tart shell, cutting off all excess edges. Prick tart bottom all over with fork. Refrigerate until needed (step 5).
  3. Peel, core and cut apples*.
    IMG_1941
  4. a) IF USING BUTTER:* Melt 1 tablespoon butter in small saucepan over medium heat. Add 2 tablespoons raw sugar and cook for 1 minute, string occasionally, until mixture turns to the colour of caramel; light, toffee-coloured brown. Remove from heat and add 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg and lemon juice.
    b) IF NOT USING BUTTER: Toss apples with 2 tablespoons raw sugar, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg and lemon juice.
    IMG_1946
  5. Take out tart shell from refrigerator and place/arrange your apples inside.
    IMG_1950
  6. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until edges are golden brown.
  7. Remove tarts from oven. Drizzle over honey while tarts are hot; it will partially melt over into a smooth, even sheen.
  8. Let tart shells cool in pan for 5 minutes, then remove and cool completely***.

Enjoy,
Moe

Author’s Notes:

*Cut however you wish; I’ve tried both diced (into cubes) and slicing (into thin wedges) and like how the thin wedges turn out visually. Otherwise, the taste is the same.

**I usually do use butter, but when apples are in season during autumn, I leave it out to really let the apple flavour shine instead of the nutty, caramel-y flavour from butter.

*** It is easier to slice when it’s cooled completely; the apple tart crumbles and falls apart more easily when it is warm. However, that is only if you can resist the tempting scents of autumn, caramel and fresh, warmly spiced apple to wait! This tart really tastes the best warm.

Leave a Reply

